Sherina Jamal of Beauty Through Balance

17 Jan

Sherina Jamal

Sherina Jamal, Founder and CEO of Beauty Through Balance, was kind enough to share her secrets for creating a relaxing and beautiful home. . . plus a few beauty and rejuvenation tips. Since her company, Ancient Secrets, supplies spas worldwide with high quality, natural products and & is instrumental in creating spa treatments. . . who else better to learn how to live the spa way.

1.      How did you start your business?  Was it a childhood goal or happy accident?

My culture being East Indian was rich in the use of herbs for healing and I have used this as a key influence in the formulations that I have created.  I watched my mother using home remedies on her skin based on Indian beauty rituals.  My passion was for natural products and do it yourself remedies to use as alternatives. From there I became interested in formulation development with a focus on natural holistic ingredients..

2.  Do you go to the spa ?  Have you been on a spa vacation?  Memorable spas, places or treatments?  Your dream spa vacation?

I recently went to Africa for a family holiday and was able to experience a treatment in a beautiful spa in Zanzibar.  But my most memorable spa experience was the VIP spa room at Spa Utopia (located in the Pan Pacific hotel in Vancouver BC) as a treat for my husband and I the day after our wedding.

My dream spa vacation would be in South India. I strongly believe in the healing benefits of Ayurvedia and would love to stay at an authentic Ayurvedic healing spa in India.

Beauty Through Balance's Signature Series

3.      How do you relax at home? Any DIY beauty/spa treatments you indulge in?  Favorite Products?  Best place in your house to escape?

After a long day at work I love cooking & whipping up something very healthy and creative to unwind.  I also try to sit quietly and take in the view with a cup of herbal tea before opening up the computer again
I use our Beauty Through Balance line at home daily but also like to make my own facial scrub using oatmeal, yogurt, pineapple and honey. I place all of this in my bullet.  For daily skin care, I use our Lavender Olive Rich Foaming Bath/Cleanser as a facial cleanser, and our Acai Power Repair moisturizer as my daily facial moisturizer.

Twice a week I use either our Seaweed Mask or Hyrda Skin Renewal Gel and daily I use our Glacial Revitalizing Mist.  For the body I think dry brushing is a must and I do that daily to keep the skin smooth and stimulate circulation.

The best place in my house to escape is either my kitchen when I’m cooking or in my living room taking in the view of the water. I also like to do some reading in bed before going to sleep. This helps me detach from work.  I have been using my Ipad to catch up on reading my Oprah newsletters.

4.  What are your weekly/monthly regimens or simple daily rituals do you do to unwind/rejuvenate? Describe?

To unwind, I hit the gym at least 3 times per week and do a long walk at least twice a week.  Spending time with family and quality time with the hubby also helps me to feel more balanced and relaxed.  At least once per month I try to go to our community church(mosque) as a believe strongly in the benefits of spirituality in enhancing one’s life and keeping life in a good balance.

 

Note how the artwork & table setting play off of each other in Sherina's dining room. Inspired use of fruit in the clear vase.

5.  Have your business or products inspired your home decor? How so? If not, what inspires your interior?  Did you decorate or hire a designer?

Our line is based on indigenous ingredients from around the world and also embraces what is truly “spa”.  My décor elements include Moroccan lamps, Indian pillows & other ethnic touches. The spa element is represented with natural colors like sand & creams. Contemporary furniture reflects our clean and modern packaging. Also, We are planning on bringing in a water feature. You’ll also find touches like natural aromatherapy candles and ocean elements like sea shells and sand.

The furnishings clean lines & symmetrical configuration invite you to relax and take in the view. *Note Sherina is still shopping for art for this space, like all our homes, hers is a work in progress.

6.  What tops your home wish list?  Furniture, Renovations?  Do you have any secret resources for furniture/home accessories?

Due to our busy schedules we have not yet completed the final touches on our condo. My wish list includes finding the right artwork for our walls and completing some renovations. For secret resources, Vancouver has a number of great wholesale suppliers and boutique like furniture/home décor shops so its not hard to find something unique it just takes a good eye and some patience.

Thanks so much for sharing Sherina & helping us all Live, Love & Lounge in beauty!  Visit the Beauty Through Balance website to see her entire line.  We highly recommend it.  – Candy

One Response to “Sherina Jamal of Beauty Through Balance”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sherina Jamal of Beauty Through Balance « Art of the Spa | Feed-O-Matic - January 17, 2011

    […] reading here: Sherina Jamal of Beauty Through Balance « Art of the Spa VA:F [1.9.6_1107]please wait…Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)VA:F [1.9.6_1107]Rating: 0 (from 0 […]

Leave a Reply

