Why I Won’t Go to the Spa This Year

2 Jan

Nope. Nuh-uh. That’s not a typo. I really will not be going to the spa in 2011. Pick up your jaw. I know it’s beyond bizarre. How can a spa crazed gal go cold turkey for 12 entire months?

The Dream Job

Image by Michael Shalev. Purchase on canvas at http://www.m-shalev.co.il

I spent over 7 years going to the spa as my career. I suffered through massages, pedicures and facials all in the interest of helping my clients improve their properties. Cue violins.

The Real World

But who gets to do this? Most of the women I know are too tired, busy or broke to spa – it’s pretty much a forbidden extravagance. And on top of that, their home, which is supposed to be a sanctuary, often causes more stress.  Not to mention we’re coming out of that nasty R word.

That’s why my passion has always been to help others recreate this privileged experience in their own homes. What if we lived like we were at a spa, surrounded ourselves with similar decor, pampered ourselves with beauty treatments and ate the delicious, yet diet friendly, cuisine?

We (& our VERY LUCKY families) would be happier and healthier. (Which just so happen to be two of the top New Year’s resolutions!)

The Aha Moment

The epiphany hit during one of my favorite holiday specials, The Year Without a Santa Claus, I kept thinking: “What if it were the year without spa?” It would show my sincerity & seriousness about achieving the bliss of the spa at home. So I’m going to practice what I preach and spend 2011 spa free.

The Blog

Each week we will focus on a particular spa, delivering super easy, specific ways to bring that spa’s unique qualities to your abode. That may be a recipe, color palette, piece of furniture, DIY treatment, etc.

And to make it a little more interesting, we’ll use the 52 spas featured in The Art of the Spa (the 1st engagement book devoted to spa by yours truly) as a guideline to which spas we select.

Though I may visit a spa to photograph interiors or interview therapists, I won’t be indulging in any treatments at the spa. It’s going to be rough. . . let’s hope I survive ; )  I’ve gotta admit I’m scared!  Do you think I can do it?   Vote in the poll or comment below.

AND follow along my quest in my Un-Spa Diary here.

Live, Love and Lounge, Candy

10 Responses to “Why I Won’t Go to the Spa This Year”

  1. everythingspa January 2, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    You are a brave, brave women to try this experiment. I look forward to following along on your “spa-less” journey.

    Michele McIntyre
    cnyspagirl
    Freelance spa writer

    • artofthespa January 7, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      Michele thanks so much! You wouldn’t believe how many times this week I was like, Oh I need a pedicure to wear those shoes or I think I’ll schedule a facial and then realized OMG I can’t! BUT, doing it myself is a lot of fun & the time saved from driving to an from the spa, etc. allows me to do other things like focus on my business! Please keep in touch – I’m thinking of doing a diary on the site. Live, Love & Lounge, Candy

      • Michele mcintyre January 9, 2011 at 2:54 am #

        A diary would be so much fun! I’d be glad to follow along and keep in touch. I’ve already had one massage this year – not sure I could go cold turkey. But I did give myself my own pedicure – so that’s a start right? Keep posting and I’ll keep reading, Michele.

      • artofthespa January 9, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

        Thanks Michele! I’ve actually just put it up and posted the first entry – I think this is going to be a revealing year for us all ; ) Candy link to UnSpaDiary https://spaaroundtheworld.wordpress.com/unspa-diary/

  2. Soleil Organique January 2, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    You can do it Candy. We’re cheering for you. Follow your bliss in 2011!

    • artofthespa January 7, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      thanks for the vote of confidence ; ) Candy

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why I Won't Go to the Spa This Year « Art of the Spa | Bliss Spa - January 2, 2011

    […] See the rest here: Why I Won't Go to the Spa This Year « Art of the Spa […]

  2. Tweets that mention Why I Won’t Go to the Spa This Year « Art of the Spa -- Topsy.com - January 2, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Candy Silvasy, Jeremy McCarthy, MarktheSpaman, BaliWellnessJourneys and others. BaliWellnessJourneys said: Why I Won't Go to the Spa This Year : http://t.co/LEj0FeK though a #Bali #Wellness Journey is not the same thing… […]

  3. Ananda Spa – Feature Spa Week 1 « Art of the Spa - January 4, 2011

    […] Jan Who’s ready for the first of our 52 spa adventures?  In case you missed the news in Why I Won’t Go to the Spa this Year, each week of 2011 we’ll feature a world class destination spa & give you simple ways to […]

  4. Ananda Spa | Art of the Spa TM - October 9, 2011

    […] Spa Who’s ready for the first of our 52 spa adventures?  In case you missed the news in Why I Won’t Go to the Spa this Year, each week of 2011 we’ll feature a world class destination spa & give you simple ways to […]

Leave a Reply

