Yolanda Aguilar Beauty Institute & Spa LA

16 Sep

Spa Week sent me on a mission to Yolanda Aguilar Beauty Institute & Spa in Los Angeles for our weekly #SpaWeekGossip parties and I gladly accepted.

YA Beauty Institute and Spa is in the financial district and I can’t think of a better spot for a gem of a spa. YA specializes in skin rejuvenation – sort of a medical spa with a luxury feel. While relaxing and pampering are part of the experience, clients expect to leave with their skin visibly improved. Acne, lines, inflammation and discolorations watch out!

Perfect for me, who since moving to LA, has noticed more freckles and a drier visage. Yolanda, who has been in the beauty business for 45 years, pays extra special attention to her clients so each treatment is customized. After changing into a robe & slippers, I sipped a cup of green tea and relaxed in YA’s earthy green and fountain filled waiting area.

*Superspagoer secret: You know how they say to look at stylist’s hair at a salon? Check out the skin on the staff at a spa. Every person at YA had lineless, gorgeous skin.

Yolanda retrieved me and welcomed into her office for a consultation which all new guests receive. As I suspected, my skin was dry on the cheeks but oily in the t-zone with some acne (Ick Рhow embarrassing!) and freckles. Rx?   Her Hydra Facial.

The Hydra Facial uses a high tech machine with several attachments that allow the aesthetician to exfoliate, peel, oxygenate and inject vitamins deep into the skin.

Claudia, my aesthetician, cleansed and exfoliated me. (SpaHome note: she recommends if you wear make up washing twice – once with a milky cleanser, then with a sudsy one). Bumps (read zits) were extracted (the unfun part of a facial), but the foot massage I got during the extractions numbed any discomfort.

Next a gauze mask was applied over a disinfecting gel and a light passed over. Tingled! Then the diamond peel. I was a bit nervous it may hurt, but it felt like sandpaper on my face. Next suctioning cups dispersed a vitamin gel into my pores, then sucked up excess – I felt like I was making my face do sit ups! The finale, a blue light to calm residual redness.

To finish, sunscreen was applied. Wow, babies would be jealous! My face felt tighter, tingled and was a bit pink. But it looked like velvet.

Watch segments of the treatment: Here

BONUS: Yolanda Aguilar is celebrating Spa Week & you can treat your summer ravaged skin for only $50! Less than half of the regular price. Call now Spa Week ends Sunday.

PS: A week after my Hydra Facial, my skin is smoother, brighter and softer. As one of my friends put it last night, you always look good but now you’re glowing from the inside out! Wow! What a huge compliment. Thank you Yolanda, Claudia and the entire staff.

Yolanda developed her own treatment line which I have to try. Will report on that in a month.

Live, love and lounge, Candy

Leave a Reply

