It’s A Spa World Part Deux, or How to Plan A Trip Around the World While Losing Your Mind

14 Sep

Lord Kelvin: I, Lord Kelvin, hereby vow to surrender my position as minister of science to Phileas Fogg if he can circumnavigate the globe… in more than 80 days. But if he cannot, he must never set foot in the academy again, he must tear down that abhorrent eyesore he calls a labatory, and he must swear… never to invent again.
[Phileas is taken aback by this vow, not knowing what to say]
Lord Kelvin: Just as I always suspected, Fogg. You promise so much, yet you deliver… oh,nothing.
[more laughter]
Phileas Fogg: [quietly] I’ll take your wager.

If my last post didn’t clue you in, I feel like I’m losing my grip on all of this.

“How on earth am I ever going to travel and visit all of these spas in 80 days?” I’m scolding myself, wondering what I’ve gotten myself into, as I’m sorting through brochures and websites.

I’m beginning to understand why our friend Phileas was hesitant to take the wager.

Procrastination

Normally when I travel I’m a fly by the seat of my skirt kind of gal. Waiting until morning to make decisions about the day’s happenings. Packing a few hours before I need to be at the airport, racing around the day before picking up odds and ends – fellow procrastinators you know what I mean ; )

But because timing is crucial on this transcontinental traipse I won’t have time to work things out as I go, so I’m going to have to get organized (If only I could apply this kind of resolution to my closet!). Thus, the last post which emanated from my spinning head dizzy from confirmation numbers, flight times, taxi rides, etc.

I See the Light

After intermission, with my head cleared, I created planning forms to help me organize and digest all of the information. 

  • A Spa Agenda, so I can see what I’m doing where and not repeat treatments and keep contact numbers close.
  • A Flight Information Form keeps my air travel details organized so I don’t miss my planes.
  • Now I know approximate times for each leg, I can call the spas to schedule treatments, using the Spa Vacation Planner from my previous post – I made one planner for each spa I will be visiting.

    Relax travel-weary feet

    Relax travel-weary feet

    I highly suggest setting up a facial, pedicure or massage for 3 hours after you are scheduled to arrive at the spa (3 hrs in case your flight is delayed). These treatments attend to the ailments of air travel:

     

  • sore feet from running to catch your plane
  • dry skin from Sahara like cabins
  • cryptic joints from “seat squashed” legs
  •  

    The final step was a Projected Daily Schedule to get a day by day glimpse at the flow of the trip and daily goals. Get to the spa, catch my flight, catch a train to the spa/airport, have that post-flight massage!

    Mind you, I don’t have ESP, and I know things will go off kilter but this skeleton shows where glitches are most likely so I can pencil in catch up time and make the 80 day deadline.

    Feel free to download the forms for your travels: download the forms here

    Coming Up: Credentials. . . Do You Have What it Takes to Make it Around the World? until then,
    See you at the Spa, Candy

    One Response to “It’s A Spa World Part Deux, or How to Plan A Trip Around the World While Losing Your Mind”

    1. Master of Spa Deals December 13, 2008 at 10:53 am #

      This is an interesting article, I’d love to travel around the world someday and soak myself in a spa all day long.

    Leave a Reply

