A Planning Aside: Gender Bender

12 Sep

Railway Official: There’s still fifty miles of track to be laid between here and Allabahad.
Phileas Fogg: But the London newspapers announced the opening of this railway throughout.
Railway Official: That must have been The Daily Telegraph. Never would have read that in The Times.

I’m so bogged down with plotting the nitty gritty details of the trip: a day-by-day itinerary, airport to spa travel arrangements, the flight times for each leg, and finally calling each spa to book my room and treatments.

Maybe insight and hints from other around the world travelers’ stories may inspire me. (I also desperately need a break. . . so far this is definitely the most tedious step of all the preparations. . . and I’m dangerously close to caving in to a stress induced Krispy Kreme craving.)

My search turned up Around the World in 80 Treasures, Around the World in 80 Gardens and Michael Palin’s Around the World in 80 Days. Suddenly it struck me that every person who attempted to travel the globe in 80 days is male. (Not counting the gal in Around the World in Eighty Dates – who took longer than 80 days to find her soulmate – really great book BTW)

Perking up I thought, “Wouldn’t it be cool to be the first woman to do the 80 day trek?” Since this is basically my “dry run” for the fund-raising trip next year, it could add another dimension to my dream trip.

Have a look at some of the other 80 day journeys here:
ATW in 80 Gardens, ATW in 80 Treasures, Michael Palin’s journey

Hope you enjoyed my little aside, next post back to our regular programming, “It’s a Spa World Part Deux” til then,

See you at the Spa, Candy

Leave a Reply

